Crimes related to domestic violence are a serious criminal matter, whether it is a first offense or whether there are aggravated factors. Here are some of the questions that clients ask us in their domestic violence cases. For more information or to discuss the specifics of your case, call our office to schedule a consultation with a Wisconsin criminal defense lawyer.
The penalties for domestic violence depend on the severity of the charge. For example, here are the potential penalties for battery in the context of domestic violence:
- Battery is intentionally causing bodily harm to another without the person’s consent, and it can be punished with up to nine months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- Substantial battery is intentionally causing substantial bodily harm to another, and it is punishable by up to 3 ½ years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- Aggravated battery is causing great bodily harm with the intent to cause bodily harm, and it is punishable with up to 15 years in prison and a $50,000 fine
Once you are convicted of a domestic violence charge in Wisconsin, it stays on your record for life. It is visible to anyone who performs a background check on you. Some jobs may not employ you if you have one conviction related to violence. You would also lose your right to own firearms.
You may also be subject to a restraining order that keeps you from having any contact with the alleged victim. Domestic violence may also harm your custody status, and it may keep you from seeing your children or require you to have only supervised visitation.
In any domestic violence case, you are innocent until you are proven guilty. Your lawyer would review your case to determine whether there are any defenses that you can use to the charges against you. Here are some defenses to domestic violence charges:
- You reasonably believed that you were in danger, and you acted in self-defense (using a reasonable amount of force)
- You did not act intentionally, and what happened was an accident.
- Police did not have probable cause to arrest or charge you for the offense
- You did not commit the crime, or the accuser lied about what happened
There is no such thing as a minor domestic violence charge. You could face jail time, and the rest of your life may be altered. You should always have an attorney any time that you are charged with a crime. Your lawyer could advise you on the strategy to achieve the best possible outcome. If you choose to seek a plea bargain, your lawyer may negotiate a deal that could keep you out of prison.
If you have been charged with a domestic violence offense, the attorneys at Waukesha Criminal Defense could provide you with a strong legal defense. Call us today at (262) 518-9816 or contact us online to schedule a time to speak to a lawyer.