Drivers who are convicted of impaired driving offenses in Wisconsin can be subject to many different penalties. Charges can include underage drunk driving, an OUI offense, driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs and more. In addition to jail time and fines, drivers may lose their driving privileges for some period of time. If this happens, drivers may be eligible to receive what is referred to as an occupational license.

An occupational driver’s license is one that allows people to drive themselves to and from work or other specified locations within strict parameters after a license suspension or revocation. According to the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles, details relating to occupational licenses include:

  • The list of locations that people can drive to and from is indicated on occupational licenses and includes jobs, schools and churches.
  • Driving can only take place during stipulated days and times.
  • No more than 12 hours per day can be driven.
  • No more than 60 hours per week can be driven.

Wisconsin occupational licenses may not be valid in other states and drivers needing to enter a neighboring state should check with that state’s laws before doing so. Any violation of the terms of an occupational license will result in an arrest.

Not all drivers are eligible for occupational licenses. At the Craig Kuhary law firm, we help people understand their rights, such as obtaining occupational licenses, when faced with drunk driving charges. More details about occupational licenses in Wisconsin and OUI defenses can be found at our website. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *